Solar Eclipse 2017

IMG_28431

At the end August, the US experienced a total solar eclipse! Everyone was super excited! At work, I had people asking for eclipse glasses all month long…even the day before. I always thought I was a procrastinator but I am nothing like them. I got mine as soon as they came in and was fully prepared (good thing my glasses weren’t recalled either haha). It was an exciting day and I took some pictures. I am so glad to have them to look back on!

What is a solar eclipse?

An event in which the moon passes between the sun and Earth and blocks all or part of the sun.

Diagram showing the Earth-sun-moon geometry of a total solar eclipse.

Who saw the solar eclipse 2017?

Everyone in North America, parts of South America, Africa, and Europe saw, at least, a partial solar eclipse. Portions of 14 states were in the path of totality, a relatively thin ribbon about 70 miles wide. The first point of contact was Lincoln Beach, Oregon at 9:05 am PDT (totality began at 10:16 am PDT). The path crossed through Oregon, Idaho, Wyoming, Montana, Nebraska, Iowa, Kanas, Missouri, Illinois, Kentucky, Tennessee, Georgia, and North and South Caroline. The total eclipse ended near Charleston, SC at 2:48 pm EDT.

A map of the United States showing the path of totality for the August 21, 2017 total solar eclipse.

The last time the contiguous US saw a total eclipse was in 1979.

What is the difference between a solar eclipse and a lunar eclipse?

A solar eclipse happens when the moon gets in the way of the sun’s light and casts its shadow on Earth. During the day, the moon moves over the sun and it gets dark.

During a lunar eclipse, Earth gets in the way of the sun’s light hitting the moon. During the night, a full moon fades away as Earth’s shadow covers it up. The moon can look reddish because Earth’s atmosphere absorbs the other colors while it bends some sunlight toward the moon.

To learn more, check out the NASA SpacePlace website (great for kids) and the official NASA Total Eclispe August 21, 2017 website *diagrams and information is from above websites*


At my location (home), I saw a partial solar eclipse (moon covered only part of the sun). The eclipse peaked at 10:19 am when the moon covered 98.9% of the sun. It was not a totality but it’s pretty good considering I didn’t have to travel at all. However, after experiencing this eclipse, I am definitely going to travel to the path of totality next time to get a better view and see complete darkness. Still, this was such a cool experience. It got gradually darker as the moon covered the sun. It was like afternoon/evening at peak time. It also got slightly colder 🙂

I use my Canon Powershot, which was perfect for the job. The camera has amazing zooming lens! I stabilized it on a tripod to avoid blurry images. I didn’t get a chance to buy a special solar filter, so I placed one of my solar glasses behind the lens. It wasn’t fancy but it did the job!

*Note: the time stamp on the pictures are 5 minutes behind*

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Did you get a chance to watch the solar eclipse? How was it where you lived? Have you ever seen any eclipse (lunar or solar) before? If you have any pictures, I would love to see them. Leave the link in the comments or tag me on Twitter and Instagram!

signature

Check out these posts:

IMG_269520170603_180554Canada-eh

Leave a Reply

